Aquarian Mother Moon, “this is our life.”

I wasn’t going to write about today’s Mother Moon (it’s in Aquarius) as I wasn’t feeling inspired to write and I am committed to not ‘doing’ creative things unless I am moved to. Much too often my ego gets in and makes me create so that I can feel as though my existence on Gaia is justified.

I remember once when the Priestess that trained me asked, “Candise, is enjoying life enough of a purpose for you?” I was horrified, of course it wasn’t!!! Shortly after I had a hypnotherapy session in which I visited my past lives at the end of the session my soul told me my life purpose, the message for this lifetime that came through was that my soul was here to learn how to enjoy life, not to focus on big outlandish acts but to just be in life and enjoy it. I shuddered, how little and insignificant I have felt for so very long when I’m not attached to a grand dream of creating a big splash in the world.

It’s interesting, but not surprising, that these lessons would come to mind today with the Aquarian moon having just filled our sky. Aquarius is the energy of change, evolution, revolution and rebellion. These are aspects that my Maiden self relates to, and while that Maiden still lives within me and contributes much to my life, it is the Mother aspect of my life that is ruling right now.

These past few weeks have been mundane, I’ve been exhausted, so, so, so hot and spending long unending days with a toddler that is full of energy, I have had little room to do much more than mother, clean, rest, repeat. Tonight when my husband came home I told him, I needed some time to myself, that time paired with a tea boosted me into inspiration.

The full phase of the moon is the Mother phase, on a microcosmic level I can bring these Aquarian energies into my mothering, I can reflect on how authentic my mothering is, on where I get my ideal’s for raising my daughter and on how to steer us out of the social construct that sexualizes and dehumanizes females before puberty even begins.

The largest aspect of this Mother Moon that I’m feeling tonight is the way that it is mothering me towards freedom and creativity. Aquarians crave freedom as fish out of water crave water and by nature are creative simply by being their authentic selves. I have been reflecting on being an act of creativity just by living and in this reflection I have been thinking about an Aquarian that has inspired me for over half of my life.

If you are Canadian you know that a Canadian hero of ours is facing the final days of his Earthwalk with us. This hero, of course the ever prolific and poetic Mr. Gord Downie is who I’m referring to, is an Aquarius.

Gord Downie is the lead singer of the band The Tragically Hip, I’m not a music writer so I won’t attempt to give you an overview of his work, I will say that his band was an integral part of my Maiden years and my Mother years. His words, his zeal, his eccentric presence on stage, they shaped who I grew into as a woman. I watched him create, was uplifted by his lyrics and my three best friends and I bonded in the melodic ethers of the work that he so generously gave us.

When I was a teenager his music meant freedom, it was a big “fuck you” to the establishment, it meant big open skies and vast mysterious roads ahead. As I aged and became a Mother, moved back to a small town and began to grow a family his music meant roots, community and a true connection to the soil that I live on. His Aquarian self created a community out of Canada and he stayed true to his small town roots this inspires me today.

Many of his poignant lyrics have been haunting me as our country prepares for their final concert this Saturday. “I’ve gotta go, it’s been a pleasure doing business with you.” “Let’s just see what tomorrow brings.” And tonight, it’s been “No dress rehearsal, this is our life.”

This is it, this is my life, how am I living it? That man has maybe no more summers left in this lifetime and he’s sharing it with his country, touring and giving us his soul on stage, it’s an experience I will forever be blessed to have been a witness to.

In the past, if I had had the past few weeks that I have had, sweating, tired, tending a child, cleaning a house and cooking meals with no sight of my grand dream in front of me I would have fallen into a depression. I would have heard that lyric, “No dress rehearsal, this is our life,” and I would have become depressed, I would have felt that my life was mundane, dull and worthless, that I was going through the motions and missing the spark, the ‘it’ factor that the greats experience, I would have felt like my life was worthless.

That is not how I feel tonight. I feel inspired. That line isn’t about my life, it’s about our life, our life as a collective is the focus of the Aquarian Moon. Our life is being lived in this moment, in the mundane, in the day to day tasks, in the heat waves, in the long hazy days of summer. These days will never return again. The spectacular times, the moments when I am on stage, leading a circle, writing my book, dreaming up businesses, I will look back on those times with fondness one day. Those are my dreaming and expanding moments. What I will look back upon with even more fondness will be the memories of my daughter sitting with her feet in the cold water filled sink as I cooked dinner, the anticipation that I feel waiting for my beloved to walk through the door after a long day of manual labour, the hopes of finding our first home and wondering if we can afford it, the unknown of a baby that will one day be as familiar as another limb is to me, as my daughter is now.

Our life is lived in these simple moments, I know everyone else in the world seems to get this, but that has been such a huge piece for me to actually get. I spent my teenage years in pits of angst, just miserable. I dreamt of getting out of this city, of being rich and famous, of being someone and proving my worth to everyone that had wronged me. I know that was my experience because I have the journals to prove it. But when I think back on those years today, I don’t feel the memory of discontent or a need to leave. I feel such warmth and love for what I had. I remember afternoons on the porch with my three soul sisters, I remember long evenings of us laughing and playing, I remember quiet skies and open fields, and when I remember these years I remember that I was doing nothing more than existing and being in the moment. I created because it felt good to create and life felt like it would stretch out forever. I trusted that there was an abundance of time and an abundance of dreams to be fulfilled.

Tonight, I breathe into time, I remember the vast Aquarian truths that elevate us spiritually, that time is an illusion, that we continue round and round the ferris wheel of existence trying on new identities and new experiences and I know tonight that the most important thing for me to do, is to simply live my day as it is, to expand, to stretch towards the highest vibrational wave that I can find and then to ride that wave and to soak up every moment of this turning wheel of life. This is not a dress rehearsal, this is our life and we get live it fully by soaking each and every moment up as the sweet, ephemeral elixir that it is.

Goodnight, be blessed.

Grace Be With You,
Priestess of Grace,
Candise Soaring Butterfly
image taken from: http://aplaceforthings.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/Gord-Downie.jpg

Posted on August 19, 2016, in Mother Moon Messages and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

