January: Amethyst

My husband gifted me with a beautiful new oracle deck, I have been using the same two decks for years and was overjoyed to receive the Liquid Crystal Oracle deck from him for Christmas. There really hasn’t been room in my card family for a new deck, as I became quite comfortable with the two decks and I. However, I knew when I saw this deck that more light and inspiration was about to wash over me.

As I began to read through the accompanying book the first thing that became apparent to me was how much depth and weight each of the readings held. I didn’t feel like I could fully digest any of the cards I was pulling and really wanted to capitalize on this deck reigniting my relationship with my own crystals.

After sitting with these desires I decided that for the next calendar year I would pull one card a month to focus on, I will carry the crystal of the card that I have pulled with me. I will wear a string around my wrist that is the colour of the ray of light that the crystal resonates with and I will burn a candle that is the same colour as that ray with it’s matching scented oil.

The added gift in this commitment is that it gives me an excuse to buy new crystals, if I don’t already own the one that I pull, and to treat myself to some new candles and oils. I will pull my card for the following month a week or so early simply to prepare the needed crystals and candles and what not, my focus will remain on the crystal for the month however.

January’s crystal is Amethyst. I already owned some amethyst so I am carrying her around with me for the next month. I have the card out and by a rock salt candle (I’m going to have to order my candle for this month online, I can’t find the exact one I want in town).

I have begun today by meditating with her and focusing on the first paragraph in the book about Amethyst. With this deck Amethyst is associated with humility, a quality I will seek to cultivate this month. In the reading, the author writes that humility can only be attained by those of us with a Peaceful Heart and a Truthful Mind.

Very inspiring, what is a peaceful heart? How can I tell that my heart is at peace? I will be asking my crystal to strengthen peace in my heart. Right off the bat I know that being with my family brings peace to my heart, and being in nature and stillness and listening to good music. A truthful mind is a bit easier to understand, though not necessarily easier to possess for me. I do nightly inventories and seek to be aware of the ways that I fall out of alignment with what I envision the Goddess wills me to be, the more authentic I can strive to be the more truthful I imagine my mind is.

My final focus for today is on the “light of Adhara” that the author relates to this crystal. At first I thought that he was writing about the anahata chakra, which didn’t make sense because Amethyst is traditionally related to the sixth chakra and not the fourth, then I realized that Adhara is a word I have not ever come across. I looked it up and Adhara is the brightest star in ultraviolet light! Woah, tonight, and I expect many times throughout this month I will be calling upon the ultraviolet light of Adhara to surround me, I suspect I will work with the violet flame of Master Saint Germaine as well…more shall be revealed.

I will post as often as I can throughout the month to share about my journey with Amethyst and the crystal oracle deck.

Grace Be With You
Priestess of Grace,
Candise Soaring Butterfly
ps the deck is called the Liquid Crystal Oracle by Justin Moikeha Asar

Posted on January 1, 2016, in Journeying with Crystals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

