Heathens in the House

In lieu of it being the Easter weekend and the lack of celebration of the Christ story in my Goddess circle I decided with a friend of mine and my husband to go to a Catholic church service today, the day of Christ’s crucifixion. I was a bit reticent but my desire for ceremony and ritual outweighed the reticence and so we went.

Upon entering the church (while my husband and friend were both parking) with my 18 month old Maiden on hip I narrowly missed knocking over the purple sheet covered crucifix that was laying atop a table. I hurriedly entered a surprisingly packed church and found a seat in the very back. The congregation was eerily quiet as they awaited mass. This day is a solemn day in the church so I understood the silence and honoured it as best I could, however the moment we sat down Gracious (my daughter) took a look around and began to belt out her favourite nursing song at the top of her lungs, you might recognize it, it goes like this “We all come from the Goddess and to Her we shall return like a drop of rain, flowing to the Ocean. Hoof and horn, hoof and horn all that dies shall be reborn. Crone and Sage, Crone and Sage wisdom is the gift of age.” There’s another line in there that we don’t sing as I forgot about it when I taught her the song, however these were the lyrics Gracious began to heartily sing the moment we entered the church. I pulled my boob out, reminding myself that any snarky glances I got could reference their very own pro-breastfeeding in church pope and the Goddess chanting ceased from the back of the room. As the service began angelic, archaic hymns were sung in heavy, serious tones, each pause in the hymn was greeted by a “yeeeeee!!!” from my daughter who clapped in excited applause to the performance. As I admired my daughter’s free spirit in church my husband took her for a walk to give the rest of the congregation some space to do their quiet worship. This space gave me some time to contemplate my presence there. I pride myself on my ability to receive a message in any religion or ceremony, I listen for the mystical message behind the words and am able to uplifted, the same was true for this sermon that was given I got a lovely and inspiring message. When the crucifix was carried to the front of the church and the people began to slowly approach the crucifix to pray my mind appreciated what it observed. I like ritual, I like that there is a church that has so much ritual in it. I tried to push aside what I know about the history of this particular church and so that I could just be in the moment, participating, a part of. Yet as I watched the women, men and children march in procession towards the cross I called upon my ancestors, I asked them how they felt about my presence in this church, the message that I felt come through clearly was that the majority of people I saw walking towards that cross came from a lineage that was either threatened into joining the religion that they now worship, or worse killed as the church enforced their will upon the people of the Western world. I can’t forget The Burning Times documentary that I watched nor any of the information that I have researched. This church has never, to my knowledge, apologized for the women, men an children that were burnt as witches during their inquisition. I couldn’t sit there, I couldn’t participate. My Grandmothers deaths mean too much to me. I grabbed my friend and my husband and daughter and we left. Next year we will worship as a family as I lead us through ceremony or we will find a Unity Church and join them.

That was my unexpected message on this Good Friday, a reminder that under no circumstances can I enter a Catholic Church and be okay with myself.

The rest of my time was spent contemplating what this day means to me. This day in particular above all other Christian days of honour simultaneously moves me and irks me. It moves me because of what it represents and it irks me because I believe the majority of people who have learnt about the crucifixion have received a false message. I am irked because the message of Christ is in black and white and with a little bit of spiritual discernment there is quite a powerful message, however the patriarchy and it’s attending henchmen have taken a story of Power and Glory and turned it into one of shame and blame. Most churches will tell you that Jesus died on the cross to save all of us from our sins, that we are lowly sinners and that if we can admit that Jesus is the one and only child of God and that if we choose to worship Him (despite the fact that He admonished everyone that ever worshipped Him and asked them “Why callest thou me good? there is none good but one, that is, God” imploring them to find their own personal relationships with this presence that He called Father) then we can be forgiven for being born as lowly sinners and go to Heaven because His death on the cross was a sacrifice that He made for us. He endured all of the sins so that they could be forgiven and we could go to Heaven. That is what we are taught. The ‘Good News’ is that God came to Earth and died for us because we sucked so bad that we weren’t going to ever get there without Him coming down and being brutally beaten, murdered and humiliated. Don’t you feel great?

The mystical message of Christ is much different. It is one that has inspired me and was the beginning point of my personal path towards Source. When Jesus was preparing to leave, the disciples weren’t understanding His message even though He had been teaching with them for three years, He told them “if I go not away the Comforter will not come.” He couldn’t be their only link to God, they needed to get a personal relationship with God. Throughout His ministry He disproved all forms of human power, He proved that sickness had no power as he healed the sick, He proved that mistakes had no power by forgiving the unforgivable, He proved that laws and rules had no power by breaking them, He proved that customs that excluded women and children had no power by breaking those. He came along with a radical message, one that He guaranteed not only could you and I do, but He said that we could do greater works then the ones He was doing. Jesus had attained Christ consciousness, conscious union with the Divine and He spent His three year ministry dispelling the illusions of this realm by overcoming every human belief in lack and limitation that He encountered. His final message was that the body has no power, death has no power, hate has no power. He allowed Himself to be torn to pieces, His flesh was brutalized in front of many, He was nailed to a cross, He was ridiculed and humiliated, He died, right in front of their eyes He died. And with this sacrifice, the sacrifice of His human form He showed us that hate has no power as He forgave and loved those that hated Him before He died, that the body had no power as He endured the unthinkable and that death had no power as in three days time He rose up in His human form and ascended this realm into the next. His message was that nothing, absolutely nothing in this realm has any real power to do any harm to anyone, it is all illusion, it all fades away in the face of Divinity. He exemplified this message so that you and I could attain what He had and so that we too could live free from the bondage of this realm of illusions. The ‘One Son’ is because we are all One, there is One child, One Source, One truth and that truth in the Christian faith is to love, to forgive and to trust in the Power of Source.

Today is an important day for me because today represents courage, faith and strength. It reminds me of the barbaric nature of the human who is not connected to their spirit and it reminds me of the safety that lies within me. This day gives me the strength to bare whatever cross of illusion I am baring in the moment and reminds me that in the face of my inner Source it all fades away, it dies away and is reborn as truth, love and eternality. I am forever safe because “thou couldst have no power over me lest it was given you from above.”

Yours in Grace,
Priestess of Grace,
Candise Soaring Butterfly
Grace Be With You

image taken from: http://crosebrough.typepad.com/photos/uncategorized/2007/07/21/webrosary_2.jpg

Posted on April 4, 2015, in Sacred Dates and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

